My Contest with Mr Time

With regards to my aim to represent Great Britain, I think it’s a fair statement to admit time is not on my side. I’ve spoken about it before and it is something that’s constantly been lingering in the back of my mind. Having always considered Mr Time, as my true adversary in stopping me from achieving my dream.

When I first began javelin at Loughborough, I had numerous questions clouding my thoughts. Why couldn’t I have started the sport when I was younger? Why didn’t I start at University? Why didn’t I pursue it whilst at school? Why did I wait so long?

Starting so late in the sport, I’ve accepted time as my true challenger.

Well, I accept your challenge Mr Time!

With the hunger to throw big distances in my first year, I obsessively worked on my shoulder mobility. This fixation on results so soon, fostered by the yearning to beat Mr Time, fuelled my fanatic decision to carry out exercises and stretches over an hour everyday.

As I’ve mentioned before in a previous post, these sessions weren’t fun. They were disgusting and gruesome. Numerous times, I was on the verge of being sick, perspiring from the pain I was inflicting on myself just to try and improve the range of movement in my shoulder, only staying motivated, by keeping the end goal at the forefront of my thoughts.

leopard

Since then my range has improved dramatically, although my shoulder still requires a lot of work.  After receiving a detailed paper from my coach informing me on everything about improving flexibility and range of motion, I have taken a step back from my mobility and now do it in moderation, to ensure I keep the tension in my muscles and don’t over stretch the muscles, which would in turn increase the chance of injury.

So far, I’ve managed to evade any injuries from my shoulder or elbow and believe that I would definitely be dealing with a sore elbow by now, if I hadn’t taken David’s advice early on to improve my mobility.

Since working on my mobility, I have striven to find other ways in which to speed up the process of becoming the best in the sport. Sadly, I have learnt through my two short years of training, javelin is not a sport you can rush.

It requires continuous perseverance and practice, to learn the technique and ‘feeling’. On so many occasions, I’ve heard that ‘javelin technique takes a long time to develop’.

yka2yhgjwjc-ricky-kharawala.jpg

Obviously they are the last words I want to hear, however I have come to accept those words are true. I cannot speed the process up physically and I can’t cut corners, with the concern it will cause an injury. Something I learnt the hard way, by trying too hard to achieve what I long for so badly, I tore my external oblique twice.

For quite a while I felt that Mr Time had one up on me in this sport. Being my last chance to acquire my dream to represent Great Britain he was going to win, because I had chosen to risk my last chance of success on such a difficult and technical sport.

0gdhuhykxdc-szucs-laszlo

However, I chose to stand my ground to this bully, refusing to accept that he will win this battle. How could I beat Mr Time? If I can’t train harder or faster than I already am, how can I overcome this problem?

The answer is to train smarter.

My battle with Mr Time continues in my next post.

Leave a Reply

