Obstacles Are Opportunities

Yesterday, I had my first competition. It’s safe to say, it’s one I’d rather forget. However, I have come away not too disappointed or disheartened with my poor result.

Yesterday I was obviously disappointed with myself, but have already moved on and continued to look at the bigger picture.

I saw the competition as an opportunity to either get an early personal best or worst case scenario, discover what I need to focus on in the next two months, before I start bringing out the big throws.

A key change in my mindset is that I no longer perceive anything as an obstacle but an opportunity. 

It’s a mental battle I have continuously worked on, but my hard work is finally starting to pay off. Last year I got too caught up on my failures, fuelling the mindset for only more failure. Now I manage failure in a completely different light.

7psxziwqfgo-agberto-guimaraes-2.jpg

I’ve accepted that failure is in every athletes journey and is the key ingredient for success in almost all elite athletes. Now I see a failure as a positive, bringing me one step closer to reaching my final goal.

Failure is just an opportunity to learn and improve.

After fouling five out of six throws this weekend, it’s clear that my run up needs to go back to the drawing board. Some hard work needs to be put into my run up in the coming month and I couldn’t be more motivated and excited to start getting that work in straight away.

“The winner is the loser who evaluates himself correctly” 

Colm O’Connel

However, I’m going to have to wait a few days before I can jump back into action. As I unfortunately sprained my ankle in the competition. However, it isn’t a massive set back and should hopefully be back to normal in the next couple of days.

800_0666

One huge positive I can take away from this weekend, is that my side doesn’t hurt!

I finally threw in a competition without pain again. I have almost started to take it for granted in training and forget about the hours I’ve spent through winter trying to strengthen my core to cope with the forces I demand of it.

I couldn’t be any happier with this nugget of reassurance, that first eluded me until David brought it to my attention after the competition.

Finally I would like to end this post by congratulating my training buddy, Tom Norton, on throwing a huge new Personal Best of 62.24m this weekend. It was incredible to witness and couldn’t be anymore delighted for him.

It has only left me more motivated to train harder and reach the same calibre as my team mates.

Leave a Reply

