Only You Can Create Your Future

Since graduating from the University of East Anglia, with a Bsc in Environmental Science, two years ago. It’s fair to say I’ve been ‘coasting’ life;  Living at home, doing a part time job working at Homebase, whilst training as much as I can to pursue my dream as an athlete.

At the start of this year, I became aware that pursuing my dream in sport was no longer enough. Unhappy, because I had underachieved in my career since graduating.

For the past two years, chasing my dream has been at the forefront of my mind, but as time has lengthened since graduating, my concern to secure a job in the environmental field has proportionally increased.

karsten-wurth-104731

Worried that I may have to go back to University and complete a masters. Since the new year, I have made a strong effort to turn things around. Using my intuition to obtain some work experience at the start of the year, I have since been offered a post as a Graduate Environmental Scientist at WYG.

jonathan-pease-126071
I will be working within the Environmental Planning team, more specifically the noise, air, light and odour team.

Already achieving my key goal for this year, I feel a great sense of relief.  Finally taking the first step in the right direction, to create a successful career, in an area I am very interested and passionate about.

But this achievement to my surprise, has resulted in mixed emotions. 

Starting this new chapter of my life has caused me to feel somewhat apprehensive, mainly due to the fact that I am uncertain on how much of an impact, my new job will have on my dream.

Currently I believe it’s going to have a big impact, but the question I need to really ask myself is:

‘How much of an impact am I going to let it have on my dream?’

Only time will tell. But from my apprehension, it has become very apparent, how resolute and determined I am on achieving my dream.

This year, I have already proven to myself that I can turn things around, if I want it bad enough. Even though I have started my career, I still want to become an international athlete.

Although it suddenly feels considerably harder to achieve, the fact I know I am still hungry to make my dream come true, is enough for me to believe I will find a way to make it work.

As discussed previously,  obstacles and challenges will always arise and you have to find a way to fight through them and that is exactly what I plan to do.

In the past two years, there is a key lesson I continue to apply to my life:

In times of adversity, it’s not how it affects you, its how you handle it.

The main thing is, you should never quit, never quit, NEVER QUIT. 

 

Leave a Reply

